Thanksgiving just isn’t what it used to be….

The upcoming holiday is meant to be a time full of thanks and family festivities, but unfortunately the meaning is slowly slipping through our fingers and no one seems to be willing to stop it. The highly anticipated day after Thanksgiving…Black Friday… seems to have slowly creeped its way into Thanksgiving day!! Two years ago, I was working for Bed, Bath & Beyond, and don’t get me wrong, it was worth the experience I received. But that was the year that the company decided to have a late night shift starting at 9 p.m. Thanksgiving night and remain open through Black Friday. To a college student whose hometown and family was two hours away, this was devastating! Thankfully I didn’t have to work the night shift, but I did have to be back to work early Friday morning, making it difficult to enjoy any family time at all. I understand that people gear up for Christmas right after Thanksgiving, but could we benefit from toning the hype down a bit? My heart breaks for those that have to work on Thanksgiving, and thus, like many people I know, I am boycotting any type of shopping on Thursday! It is not fair to have these folks work and unable to spend time with their families! Thanksgiving is supposed to be about family and relaxation and stuffing our faces with turkey! NOT working so that other RUDE, SELFISH people can get their Christmas shopping fix done early. A co-worker of mine put it in the best terms:

“People have 364 other days to shop and get great deals. Why do they (people) need to take away Thanksgiving for others to shop one day early ?”


Leave a comment